Inter striker Samuel Eto’o has told Massimo Moratti to buy Lionel Messi from Barcelona.

Speaking to La Repubblica ahead of Inter’s clash with Roma this weekend, Eto’o, who played with the Argentine at Camp Nou, believes Messi would guarantee constant goals and trophies.

“He is a good player and is even better as a person,” Eto’o said of his former team-mate.

“I really admire him like I admire [Andres] Iniesta and Xavi. Before last season’s game against Barcelona I told Moratti that if he wants to buy players like them they will be symbols of the club.”

Eto’o has refound his feet in Serie A as he leads the scorers chart. He has put his sharpness in front of goal down to coach Rafael Benitez.

“I told Benitez when he arrived that I would have liked to have played more for the fans and team,” he added.

“He said he would find the solution for me and he did. I am really happy. I play on the left, but I don’t have to defend much, and this allows me more space up front.”